TSANZ Special Interest Groups


The TSANZ Special Interest Groups (SIGs) play a valuable role within the Society. They are the product of considerable thought, consultation and discussion by TSANZ members who wish to further the development of new knowledge and practice in a particular area of expertise. The SIGs are also the main contributors in the program development of the highly anticipated TSANZSRS Annual Scientific Meeting.

The leadership role of SIGs are voluntary and are elected by the Members of the SIG.

Further information about SIGs, including their role, terms of reference, communication strategies, can be found in the by laws of TSANZ Constitution.

Listed below are all current TSANZ SIGs and the Convenors. All communications with the SIGs are coordinated through the TSANZ Office.

Asthma & Allergy SIG
Convenors: Vanessa Murphy and Jodie Simpson
Deputy Convenors: Jay Horvat and Louisa Owens

Cell Biology & Immunology SIG
Convenor: Sandra Hodge
Deputy Convenor: Anthony Kicic

Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD) SIG
Convenors: Steven Bozinovski and Peter Wark
Deputy Convenors: Christopher Worsnop​ and Sukhwinder Sohal

Cystic Fibrosis SIG
Convenor: Peter Middleton (Adult)
Convenor: Catherine Byrnes (Paediatric)

Evidence-Based Medicine & Practice SIG
Convenor: Kristin Carson
Deputy Convenor: Ghulam Sarwar

Interventional Pulmonology / Bronchology SIG
Convenor: Peter Hopkins
Deputy Convenor: Jonathan Williamson​

Lung Cancer SIG
Convenor: Alistair Miller
Deputy Convenor:

Occupational & Environmental Lung Disease / Population Health SIG
Convenor: Ryan Hoy
Deputy Convenor: Graeme Zosky

Orphan Lung Diseases, Lung Transplant, Interstitial Lung Disease and Pulmonary Vascular Disease (OLIV) SIG
Convenor: Tamera Corte
Deputy Convenor: Jeremy Wrobel

Paediatric SIG
Convenor: Nitin Kapur
Deputy Convenors: Adelaide Withers

Physiotherapy SIG
Convenor: Vinicius Cavalheri
Deputy Convenor: Angela Burge

Primary Care SIG
Convenor: Juliet Foster
Deputy Convenor: Smita Shah

Pulmonary Physiology & Sleep SIG
Convenor: Alan Young
Deputy Convenor: Norman Morris

Respiratory Infectious Diseases SIG
Convenor: Andrew Burke
Deputy Convenor: Geraint Rogers

Respiratory Nurses SIG
Australian Convenor: Karen Royals
Australian Co-Convenor: Rebecca Disler
New Zealand Convenor: Deborah Box
New Zealand Co-Convenor: Jenny McWha

Tobacco & Related Substances SIG
Convenor: Brian Smith
Deputy Convenor: Johnson George


If you would like to get involved or if you wish to send a message to any of the SIGs please use the following methods of communication:

POST: GPO Box 1491, SYDNEY NSW 2001 OR