2022 Award Winners

(Saturday, 2nd April 2022):

This weekend was the Annual Scientific Meeting for The Australia & New Zealand Society of Respiratory Science and The Thoracic Society of Australia and New Zealand, TSANZSRS 2022. This was held in a virtual format, and over the weekend the Respiratory Research Excellence Awards were announced.

Over nine awards almost $150,000 was given out by the Thoracic Society and Lung Foundation Australia and the Centre of Research Excellence in Pulmonary Fibrosis, giving a much-needed investment in lung disease research! There will be more to follow later in the year.

In even more exciting news this year the total TSANZ directly funded awards value has doubled with the Society committing to increase all TSANZ project grants to $25000 and TSANZ professional development grants to $5000. This will enable greater support for research activities for our membership.

The research awards are supported by the generosity of private donations, bequests, and sponsorship and these funded projects leverage additional financing from recipients’ institutions. Thank you to our generous donors, sponsors and organisational partners for enabling our world-class researchers to continue to create respiratory knowledge and build capacity in the respiratory workforce, with the overall goal to prevent, cure and relieve disability from lung disease.

We also had the TSANZ Awards by Nomination announced at the TSANZ Annual General Meeting on Thursday evening. These awards acknowledge exceptional contributions to respiratory health and we offer a massive congratulations to each individual on this prestigious honour.

TSANZ would like to congratulate all of the Award winners!!

2022 TSANZ Awards by Nomination

TSANZ 2022 President's Award: Maurice Swanson OAM

TSANZ 50th Anniversary Medal for Education and Training: Professor Vanessa McDonald

TSANZ Research Medal: Professor Claire Wainwright

TSANZ Society Medal: Professor John Wheatley

2022 Respiratory Research Excellence Awards

Ann Woolcock New Investigator Award Winner: Olivia Carroll

Ann Woolcock New Investigator Award Finalists: Dinh Bui, Clair Lake, Katherine Landwehr, Samuel Montgomery, Jagdev Singh

TSANZ Janet Elder International Travel Award – Early-Career Researcher: Yet H Khor

TSANZ Janet Elder International Travel Award – Early-Career Researcher: Rebecca McLoughlin

TSANZ Janet Elder International Travel Award – Early-Career Researcher: Jack Callum

TSANZ Boehringer Ingelheim New Zealand COPD Travel Award: William Good

TSANZ Indigenous Respiratory Nursing Award: Karen Baker and Louise Morris

TSANZ Past Presidents Scholarship Award: Kurtis Budden

TSANZ Peter Phelan Research Award: Olivia Whalen

TSANZ Robert Pierce Grant-In-Aid for Indigenous Lung Health: Suzanne Munns

Lung Foundation Australia & CRE-PF CREATE Hope Clinical Fellowship in Pulmonary Fibrosis Research: Ingrid Cox

TSANZ would like to thank our partners and sponsors for their support of excellent respiratory research and researchers!

For information on how to apply for next year’s Awards visit the TSANZ website Research and Awards page. Please keep an eye on communications from the Society as more grants will be opening later this year.